Agence Stock Photo « 25 years of History »

Location : Hangar de la Zone portuaire de Chicoutimi

Agence Stock Photo Exhibition : 25 years of history is presented with a series of twelve photographs which have come into the collectives’ path and bear witness to a quarter of a century of reporting where the great social movements and simple everyday moments coexist.

Haiti, a photographer’s paradise, begins the journey with the first post-Duvalier elections in 1987 and remains in the focus of the collective beyond the earthquake of 2010. Attention turns toward Québec media highlights, especially the 1990 Oka crisis, the 1993 Stanley Cup riots, the 1995 referendum and the Summit of the Americas in 2001. The Festival Western de St-Tite gay village transformists show off their local colors, through the rave phenomena.

From abroad, images can transport our reality to that of a 20 year old in Moscow or to a transvestite ritual in India. The reports show amongst others, evidence of oil pollution in Kuwait, desertification in China and the recent elections in Burma. This timetable from 1987 to 2012 illustrates key events that have engraved history and ends with coverage of the events from “Printemps érable.”

One Response to “Agence Stock Photo « 25 years of History »”

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

X

Agence Stock Photo « 25 ans d’histoires »

Lieu : Hangar de la Zone portuaire de Chicoutimi

L’exposition Agence Stock Photo : 25 ans d’histoires est racontée par une douzaine de photographes qui ont croisé le chemin du collectif et témoignent d’un quart de siècle de reportages où cohabitent grands mouvements sociaux et petits segments de la vie quotidienne.

Haïti, enfant chéri des photographes, entame le parcours avec les premières élections post-Duvalier en 1987 et demeure dans la mire du collectif au-delà du tremblement de terre de 2010. Les regards se portent sur l’actualité québécoise, saisissant notamment la crise d’Oka de 1990, les émeutes de la Coupe Stanley de 1993, le référendum de 1995 et le Sommet des Amériques en 2001. Ils dépeignent les couleurs locales, du Festival western de Saint-Tite aux transformistes du village gai en passant par le phénomène rave.

À l’étranger, les images nous font voyager dans la réalité d’avoir 20 ans à Moscou ou d’un rituel de travestis en Inde. Les reportages témoignent entre autres de la pollution pétrolière au Koweït, de la désertification en Chine et des récentes élections birmanes. Cette chronologie de 1987 à 2012 illustre des évènements marquants qui ont ponctué l’histoire et s’achève par la couverture des évènements du printemps érable.

Laisser une réponse

XHTML: Tags utilisables: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

X