Low Tide – Chaos in Japan

Photographer : Denis Rouvre

Location : La Pulperie de Chicoutimi – Musée régional

See, experience, attempt to understand, educate: this was Denis Rouvre’s project when he went on two occasions, without preconceived notions and an open mind, to the Tohoku region in Japan, which was devastated by the tsunami of March 11th, 2011.

While travelling through the zones that were devastated by nature’s blind fury and abandoned by its residents, the first thing he experienced was the silence. Then he met the survivors, photographed them, and recorded their stories. He has given a face and voice to those that live in prefabricated homes and wait patiently for a better life.

Denis Rouvre’s images, both portraits and landscapes alike, reflect a fraction of time when something has shifted and remains suspended in time. They are not meant to explain or demonstrate anything. Refusing to use sentimentality, the images record, with a sobering sharpness, the tracks of devastation that hint at the fractures within an entire society.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

X

Low Tide – Le Japon du chaos

Photographe : Denis Rouvre

Lieu : La Pulperie de Chicoutimi – Musée régional

Voir, éprouver, tenter de comprendre, faire savoir, sans idée préétablie et le regard ouvert, tel était le projet de Denis Rouvre lorsqu’il s’est rendu, à deux reprises, au Japon, dans la région de Tohoku, dévastée par le tsunami du 11 mars 2011.

Parcourant des lieux de désolation anéantis dans la fureur aveugle des éléments et désertés par ses habitants, il y a d’abord fait l’expérience du silence. Puis il a retrouvé les survivants, a tenu à les photographier et recueillir leurs témoignages. À ceux-là, qui logent dans des maisons préfabriquées en attendant une vie meilleure, il a redonné un visage et une voix.

Les images de Denis Rouvre, tant portraits que paysages, disent bien que quelque chose a basculé qui se tient, comme en suspens, dans un fragment d’éternité, elles n’expliquent cependant ni ne démontrent rien. Refusant tout sentimentalisme, elles enregistrent, avec une sobre acuité, les traces manifestes d’un ravage au-delà desquelles se dessinent, se devinent les lignes de fracture de toute une société.

Laisser une réponse

XHTML: Tags utilisables: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

X