Anthropographia « Human rights »

Location : Hall de la salle François Brassard CEGEP de Jonquière, Pavillon Gérard-Arquin

During the last weekend of July 2012, Tina Ahrens, co-founder of emphasis, James Estrin, founder of the New York Times lens blog and Matthieu Rytz, founder of AnthropoGraphia reviewed the submissions sent in by an impressive group of candidates. This team carefully narrowed down the entries to 12 photo-essays and 6 multimedia projects. From these, an outstanding photo-essay and a superlative multimedia project were chosen to receive this year’s award. Two honorary mentions were also selected.

AnthropoGraphia is committed to promoting human rights throughout the world, through visual storytelling of the highest caliber. We recognize the power of photography to raise awareness, and we reject distinctions between photojournalism and the arts, which allows for a variety of approaches in documentary representation.

We seek to raise awareness of human rights issues, which the traditional media all too often marginalize. We also strive to encourage non-Western and emerging photographers by promoting them alongside the world’s most renowned photographers.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

X

Anthropographia « Droits de l’homme »

Lieu : Hall de la salle François Brassard CEGEP de Jonquière, Pavillon Gérard-Arquin

Au cours de la dernière fin de semaine de juillet, Tina Ahrens, co-fondatrice de Emphasis, James Estrin, fondateur du blog lens du new York times et Matthieu Rytz, fondateur de anthropographia, ont examiné les photoreportages envoyés par des candidats de haut calibre. Cette équipe a soigneusement limité son choix en ne retenant que 12 photo-essais et 6 projets multimédias. Le jury a attribué cette année un prix à un remarquable photo-essai et à un projet multimédia exceptionnel et a décerné deux mentions honorifiques.

Anthropographia s’est engagé à promouvoir les droits de la personne dans le monde en présentant des photoreportages racontant des histoires d’une superbe qualité visuelle. Nous reconnaissons la puissance de la photographie pour sensibiliser et nous refusons de faire des distinctions entre le photojournalisme et l’art, réunissant ainsi une variété d’approches pour la représentation documentaire.

Notre objectif est de sensibiliser la population sur les droits de la personne, problématique trop souvent marginalisées par les médias traditionnels. Nous nous efforçons également d’encourager les photographes émergents non occidentaux en les plaçant côte à côte avec des photographes les plus célèbres du monde.

Laisser une réponse

XHTML: Tags utilisables: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

X